F1 Team Facts: Scuderia Toro Rosso (STR)

April 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

Italian for Red Bull, Scuderia Toro Rosso , also known simply as Toro Rosso or by its abbreviation STR,is one of two teams owned by Red Bull. The team made its racing debut in 2006 following the establishment of a 50/50 joint ownership deal between Red Bull Racing and former F1 driver Gerhard Berger. Red Bull assumed full ownership of the team after purchasing Berger’s share back in November 2008. Before moving over to Team Red Bull, World Champion Sebastian Vettel began his driving career with Team STR.

Today, team STR is represented by drivers Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne. A former British Formula 3 Champion, Ricciardo made his Formula One debut in 2009, when he tested for Red Bull Racing at the young driver’s test at the Jerez Circuit that December. After a year racing for HRT in 2011, Ricciardo joined STR for the 2012 season. Ricciardo became the first native of Western Australia to secure World Championship points when he vinished 9th at the Australian Grand Prix in March.

Following a highly successful career in the juniors, French driver Jean-Eric Vergne joined team STR as a test driver during the 2011 season. After being promoted to the driver’s seat for the 2012 season, Vergne scored his first World Championship points in Malaysia, where he finished in eight place.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading F1 Team Facts: Scuderia Toro Rosso (STR) at Ambassador Houda Nonoo.


%d bloggers like this: