F1 Team Facts: Mercedes-Benz

April 20, 2012 § Leave a comment

Mercedes-Benz made its Formula One debut in 1954 but withdrew from the sport two years later after the Le Mans disaster, in which 83 spectators were killed. While absent from the circuit, Mercedes supplied engines for various teams. In 2010, Mercedes returned to the circuit with drivers Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg.

Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher holds records for the most championships, race victories, pole positions, points scored and races won in a season. In the past Schumacher raced for Benetton and Ferrari but signed with Mercedes in 2010 when it aimed to rebuild its team. Schumacher is credited for popularizing Formula One in Germany.

Nico Rosberg got his start in Formula One in 2005 with the Williams team. His first Formula One race was at the Bahrain Grand Prix, where he recorded the fastest lap and was the youngest F1 driver to do so in history. In 2009, Mercedes announced Rosberg as the team’s first driver. This year, Rosberg earned the first pole position of his career at the Chinese Grand Prix and went on to win the race, making it Mercedes’ first win since 1955.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading F1 Team Facts: Mercedes-Benz at Ambassador Houda Nonoo.


%d bloggers like this: